My friend JP is the Queen of Salads. When she puts on a summer lunch, she makes the most amazing spread of salads. So good that you don’t even think twice there’s no big slab of meat, or piles of carbs. Her salads are always interesting, satisfying, perfectly dressed and never, ever boring. If all salads in this world were as good as hers, I could swear off meat and carbs forever. Well! There’s a blatant lie. It sounded good. But it’s an outright fib. 😉 When it comes to iceberg lettuce, I think many people think of stock-standard green salads. Add some tomato, cucumbers and a classic French or Italian dressing. That this salad is quite different is the very reason why I love it so much. I really think it’s the herbs that makes all the difference. I had never thought of combining dill and coriander with iceberg lettuce before, but I don’t know why because I love those two herbs together – such as in this Pearl Couscous Salad and Mediterranean Brown Rice Salad. PS Also love JP’s tip to soften the herbs by drizzling over some of the dressing and setting aside for 20 minutes. This also infuses more of the herby flavour into the dressing too.

She adds a handful of red cabbage for colour and sliced snow peas for crunch. It’s a delightful sight, the fresh crisp iceberg lettuce and the pops of colour. And it tastes SO GOOD!

I’m sharing this Iceberg Lettuce Dill Salad recipe today because it is part of my 2016 Christmas Menu! This years’ Christmas menu is a seafood one with a Parmesan Crusted Side of Salmon as the centrepiece. So this salad is an absolute perfect match. No more boring Iceberg Lettuce Salads! Try this once, and I think you’ll be as addicted as I am! – Nagi x

   

JP s Iceberg Lettuce Dill Salad - 47JP s Iceberg Lettuce Dill Salad - 48JP s Iceberg Lettuce Dill Salad - 12JP s Iceberg Lettuce Dill Salad - 31