This is the sort of food that makes me do the happy dance. Literally. I took a massive spoonful and was jumping up and down with glee. It was everything I had hoped it would be, and more. Non foodies will find it hard to understand the elation you feel when you make something that is this good. I mean, gravy even in its most basic form (and anything you smother in gravy) is fantastic. But with this Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie, with just one bite, you know it’s a step up from the usual pie. You may not be able to put your finger on it, but you know there’s something different about it – just better. This is the secret ingredient – Dried Porcini Mushrooms. Just a tiny amount adds a punch of savouriness and earthiness – in posh foodie language, it adds umami.

Gourmet ingredient? Yes. But: a) you don’t need much, just 20g/0.7 oz and the soaking liquid forms part of the braising liquid; and b) ALDI SPECIAL BUY *** ALDI SPECIAL BUY *** ALDI SPECIAL BUY!!!! About 5 years ago, back when I was in corporate, a group of my colleagues were talking animatedly about the ALDI Special Buys for that week (which, from memory, was ski gear at insanely good prices). There they were, a group of professionals, all dressed up in suits and heels and I couldn’t believe that they were so excited about it that they lined up at ALDI just to get the deal!! What the???? I had clearly missed the ALDI train. I am now a firm regular on the ALDI train. Nowadays, whenever one of my foodie friends come across an awesome ALDI deal, we send out a group text. “OMG!!! Luv-a-Duck only $12!!!” “I found lobster tails at ALDI. LOBSTER TAILS!!!!!” “Bargain Bonds at ALDI, OMG, I got stacks!!” (OK, the last one is not food, but yes it has happened. Or maybe it was Calvin Klein, I can’t remember.) (And yes, there are always lots of caps and exclamation marks). And this weeks’ ALDI Special Buys including things that are right up my alley – GOURMET COOKING INGREDIENTS! Truffles, gold leaf gelatine, Dutch Cocoa (bakers, take note!), and one of my favourite secret ingredients: dried porcini mushrooms. <3 Dried Porcini Mushrooms are like a secret weapon stock. And I used it to make this Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie because it makes the most incredible gravy sauce ever.

Topped with some flaky, golden puff pastry (yes, I know it looks crazy yellow but that’s how it comes out if you brush with egg yolk)……and that moment when you break through that pastry to reveal the tender, fall apart beef and the smell of that savoury extra-tasty-gravy…. Well, let’s just say you should prepare to swoon. Or do as I did. Do a happy dance! – Nagi xx  

Today’s recipe is brought to you courtesy of ALDI Australia! Made using Dried Porcini Mushrooms which are one of many gourmet cooking ingredients that will be available as part of this weeks’ ALDI Special Buys which are available from today, Wednesday 28 June 2017, until sold out. Hurry! 😉

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

EPIC Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Always happy. Playing. Sleeping. Or eating. i.e. Always happy.

  SaveSave

Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 27Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 82Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 97Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 99Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 90Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 60Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 84Epic Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie - 21