Cauliflower Soup

I am very aware that there is a serious lack of vegetables / salads / meat free / cheese free / carb free food on my blog. I always have good intentions of blogging more vegetable focussed things but I tend to get distracted by…well…you know. Anything but salads. So I always feel like giving myself a pat on the back when I post a meat-free-almost-dairy-free-cheese-free dish! I love this soup. There are wild storms hitting Sydney as I write up this post and I can’t think of a better soup to come home to. Plus, it’s effortless. No fine chopping and dicing. Just break off the florets of a cauliflower, roughly chop up the stalk along with a potato, onion and a few garlic cloves. Toss them into a pot with milk and stock/broth, then once tender, whizz with a handheld blender. It’s that easy! And LOOK how thick and creamy it is!

This recipe is practically a “formula”. It works with loads of vegetables – broccoli, carrots, parsnip, potato, beetroot (ever tried RED soup??!), peas, fennel, zucchini. Anything vegetable that softens when boiled so it can be whizzed to become a soup. I wasn’t really thinking about calories when I decided to post this. But when I ran the nutritional analysis, I was more than pleasantly surprised to find that it is a mere 190 calories per serving. I double checked it a few times to make sure it was right – and it is! So really, if you want to treat yourself, stir through a dollop or two of cream without guilt. 🙂 Hmmm…..so if I have this for dinner, it means I can have a brownie for dessert, right? Same logic behind having a Mars Bar with a Diet Coke….. – Nagi PS Aren’t my attempts at fancy restaurant swirls of cream and olive oil atrocious?  🙂

Soup Dippers

Quick Cheesy Garlic Bread • Better-Than-Dominos Garlic Bread • Soft No Knead Dinner Rolls

More creamy cream-less soups

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup – bid Heinz goodbye! Corn Chowder and Ham and Corn Chowder with Potato Broccoli Potato Soup and Broccoli Cheese Soup Super Low Cal Creamy Vegetable Soup Creamy Vegetable Soup with Noodles Creamy Carrot Soup Browse all Soups

And more cauliflower recipes

Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower Garlic Butter Cauliflower Pasta with Pangrattato Roasted Cauliflower with Almond Sauce (Ester Restaurant) Roasted Cauliflower Salad with Crunchy Bread Chunks Chipotle Lime Roasted Cauliflower

Save this Creamy Cauliflower Soup to your “Soups” Pinterest Board!

And let’s be friends on Pinterest so you can see all the delicious recipes I’m pinning!  

More fast, healthy, creamy soups!

NO CHOP Roasted Pumpkin Soup

Easy Broccoli Cheese Soup

White Chicken Enchilada Soup

SaveSave

Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 28Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 35Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 59Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 14Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 8Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 96Creamy  Dreamy Cauliflower Soup - 89