Corn Casserole is a popular Thanksgiving side dish recipe but it’s so delicious, we should make it all year round! This corn casserole recipe is made from scratch with a shortcut option using Jiffy mix.

Corn Casserole recipe!

I only had corn casserole for the first time in my life a few years ago when a Sassy Lady from the South told me that in her books, her creamy Corn Casserole was an essential side for a true Thanksgiving experience. So I jumped at it when she offered to send me the recipe. Reading the recipe, I could tell it would taste nice. Similar ingredients to the way I make Corn Bread Muffins, but more wet ingredients. I was way out. Her Corn Casserole is sensational. Utterly and speechlessly delicious. Dangerously addictive. So good, it stole the show at my Thanksgiving lunch!

WHAT IT TASTES LIKE

This is not the sort of side dish that Australians are familiar with, but I really hope that there are Aussies reading this who will give it a try. The taste is like corn bread, with a texture like souffle but not as aerated. It looks like it has a cake texture and it holds its shape when served, but it’s much more moist, almost like a juicy pudding. It’s quite sweet from both the corn and sugar. But it works. I have a savoury rather than sweet tooth, but I didn’t think this was too sweet.  

WHAT TO SERVE WITH CORN CASSEROLE

Corn Casserole is a terrific quick side dish that’s a bit different from the usual but is the sort of food that’s universally appealing. It works well with any protein that’s made with savoury flavours (as opposed to sweet-savoury sauces like Honey Garlic Chicken). Classic pairings are turkey* and Roast Chicken, but I’ve also served it with Roast Pork with Crispy Crackling.

  • Turkey options: Roasted Whole Turkey, Garlic Herb Slow Cooker Turkey Breast (pictured below), Roasted Garlic Herb Turkey Breast, Classic Juicy Slow Cooker Turkey Breast, Cajun Turkey with Stuffing

WITH THANKS TO A SASSY SOUTHERN LADY

And the Sassy Lady from the South to whom I owe this discovery? Dorothy from Tennessee! A long time reader of RecipeTin Eats, a brilliant cook! Much of my Thanksgiving Menu from 2016 is credited to Dorothy, including the centrepiece Cajun Baked Turkey Breast roasted WITH a Cajun Dressing / Stuffing. It’s incredible!! Thank you Dorothy, for sharing your amazing recipes with me so I can share them with my readers. I am truly honoured! – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Corn Casserole recipe originally published November 2016, updated with new photos and recipe video. No change to recipe – it’s a reader recipe that’s perfect as is!

THANKSGIVING 2016 MENU

LIFE OF DOZER

Just stopping for a bit of whale watching…..

SaveSave SaveSave

Corn Casserole - 76Corn Casserole - 3Corn Casserole - 40Corn Casserole - 17Corn Casserole - 94Corn Casserole - 18Corn Casserole - 1Corn Casserole - 48