Crispy seasoned chicken breast, topped with mandatory melted cheese and piled onto soft rolls with onion, avocado, lettuce, tomato and garlic mayo. Quick to make for a midweek meal, great for gatherings!

Big, juicy Chicken Burgers!

I love a good juicy hamburger. Burgers are one of my favourite quick meal options, and also my go-to option when I’m pressed for time when hosting a gathering. Whether making beef Hamburgers, Steak Sandwiches or these Chicken Burgers, they’re quick to prepare and cook, then I lay out all the topping options and let everyone help themselves! For a sensible meal option, I do tend to favour these Chicken Burgers over beef Hamburgers because they’re healthier – leaner meat, lower calories, lower fat. Just as tasty!

Seasoning for chicken breast

These chicken burgers are made with crispy seasoned chicken breast fillets. I just halve chicken breasts to create two thin steaks – or you can buy chicken breast already cut into steaks at the store. Coat in a seasoned flour (the flour makes it nice and crispy), pan fry until golden then top with cheese to melt. Meanwhile, that the burger buns or bread rolls and prepare your toppings! I like to fry up some onion because a burger doesn’t feel like a burger without onions. But the beauty of burgers is that you can load it up with your toppings of choice. Lettuce, tomato, pickles, beetroot, avocado, bacon, egg. Go wild!

Nothing whizz bang about these Chicken Burgers, but they are a dang tasty staple recipe. The main thing is the seasoning for the chicken – I personally think it’s important to load up the chicken with plenty of flavour, especially if you only use one thinnish piece like I do (for a greater surface area to flesh ratio and no marinating). I use avocado in this burger which adds creaminess and takes the place of a 2nd sauce / mustard that I would otherwise use. I’ve added some tips in the notes for alternative condiments that I think go great with chicken burgers. Happy weekend everyone!  – Nagi xx

More Burgers, Sliders and Sandwiches

Big, juicy Hamburgers Steak Sandwich – super quick Nando’s Peri Peri Chicken Burger – chicken marinated in a homemade flavour bomb Peri Peri sauce BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders and Sloppy Joes! Cubanos – The famous Cuban roast pork sandwich from The Chef movie Pastrami Sandwiches – Rye bread piled high with homemade pastrami. EPIC! Veggie Burger – Meatless made amazing. Puts those doughy bricks at the shops to shame! Browse all Burgers and Sandwiches & Sliders recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Chicken Burger recipe video! Not my best effort I’m afraid, the white balance is a bit off. I edited this video while on a bumpy flight from New York to San Francisco, and quite motion sick at that! 😉 The lovely stewardesses on Virgin America had great fun watching me make it as they moved up and down the aisles!!

LIFE OF DOZER

Do not be fooled by the innocence of this face. He uses his cuteness like a weapon to get anything and everything he wants. Including a huge bite of this burger (minus the onion and garlic mayo).

SaveSave

Chicken Burger  - 90Chicken Burger  - 24Chicken Burger  - 41Chicken Burger  - 55Chicken Burger  - 74Chicken Burger  - 55