Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette

This tastes like a cross between cheesy garlic bread and bacon dip. Well, that’s actually what it is. A cheesy bread STUFFED with bacon dip. Brushed with garlic butter and baked until toasty, crusty, golden brown. That moment, when you tear a piece off and the cheese stretches, you take a bite into the warm garlicky bread and the creamy, bacon dip fills your mouth…..it’s like……there are just no words to describe how good it is. I’m not into tedious cooking. I don’t have the patience or co-ordination. So while you might think this is difficult to stuff with the filling, it’s not! It takes about 5 minutes using a knife. Or 3 minutes using a piping bag. Plus, I make things hard for myself by just cutting the baguette into 2 pieces. It would be easier to stuff if you cut it into 4 pieces. 🙂 See how easy this is to make?

Another very appealing feature of this stuffed baguette is that you can make it ahead. It freezes perfectly! I freeze them wrapped in foil then cling wrap (or I pop it in large ziplock bags). To serve, just let them defrost, then pop them right in the oven! I tried baking it from frozen once but the crust got a little too brown for my liking before the cream cheese filling warmed through and the cheese melted. 🙂

The filling options are endless. Cream cheese itself has such great flavour, it needs little else. The basic formula is this: THE STUFFED BAGUETTE FORMULA 8oz/250g cream cheese + 4 cups of flavourings = filling for 20″/50cm baguette stick I used 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese in the filling. 1 cup of cheddar cheese (for flavour) and 1/2 cup of mozzarella (for stretch). But really, you can use any cheese that takes your fancy, and increase or decrease the amount you use. I’ve provided some extra filling combination ideas in the recipe notes. I’m sure you have plenty of other suggestions! What other ideas do you have? Let me know and I’ll update the recipe!! – Nagi

Things stuffed and baked into bread is a always good thing!

Cheese and Bacon Bread Boats Pull Apart Pizza Bread No Washing Up Ham, Egg & Cheese Bread Bowls Leftovers Bread Bowl Sandwich

 

Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 3Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 16Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 10Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 84Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 33Cheesy Jalapeno Bacon Stuffed Baguette - 96