Broccoli Fritters

“You will be amazed how little batter there is for the mound of broccoli used.” I’ve been posting a broccoli recipe every week for the last few weeks because it’s been insanely cheap lately! For those of you in Australia, it’s currently $1.00/kg (that’s $0.50 / lb) at Coles (usually it’s $4+/kg!). So me being me, who can never resist a good bargain, I stocked up big time which means I’ve had to get seriously creative to get through the ridiculous amount of broccoli stockpiled in my fridge. Here’s what I’ve shared lately:

Creamy Bacon, Chicken and Broccoli Bread Bake – made from scratch, ready to pop into the oven in just 15 minutes, this is a great way to use up any leftover stale bread lying around. Magic Broccoli – it truly is magic how a little roasting with garlic, a drizzle of lemon juice and a scattering of parmesan completely transforms broccoli!

Plus prior to this, I also posted a Creamy Broccoli Soup (amazing how creamy it is even without cream!) and Roasted Broccoli with Pangritata (which is a fancy word for toasted bread crumbs). So the Broccoli Mission continues. And today it’s bite size goodies in the form of Broccoli Fritters, that even kids love! These are seriously tasty fritters. And you will be amazed how much broccoli there is in them. There is an entire head of broccoli to make 6 fritters, and it only uses about 3/4 cup of batter. The “secret” step is to use a potato masher to lightly crush the cooked broccoli. This loosens them up so you only need enough batter to hold them together, and they mould into a fritter shape with a smooth golden brown surface rather than lumps of broccoli sticking out.

“These fritters freeze well. Just pan fry briefly to reheat them so you get the crispy crust.” I made these Broccoli Fritters with a quick yoghurt sauce but you don’t even need the sauce to be honest, they are great eaten plain. These also freeze really well! To reheat, just thaw then cook them quickly in a dry fry pan to make the surface slightly crispy as well as heating them through. I don’t recommend microwaving them as they will go soggy, and in the oven the underside goes soggy though the top crisps up nicely. Adapted from a recipe by Smitten Kitchen (I think! I don’t have the actual original recipe but a reader was kind enough to point me in that direction and I recognised the recipe!) – Nagi x

More patties and fritters (I love them!)

Cheesy Chicken Patties with Broccoli and Broccoli Chicken Fritters Crispy Zucchini Fritters Rissoles!! Bill Granger’s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa Greek Zucchini Tots (Mini Fritters) Salmon Patties and Thai Fish Cakes

  SaveSave

Broccoli Fritters - 23Broccoli Fritters - 68Broccoli Fritters - 45Broccoli Fritters - 42