This is a reader-favourite recipe included by popular demand in my debut cookbook “Dinner”!

Beef Enchiladas

I love that there are so many variations of Beef Enchiladas in this big-wide-world. Simple ones, filled with a plain cooked beef filling then topped with enchilada sauce and (lots of) cheese. Fancy ones with the addition of chillies, beans, corn and even olives, sometimes even bacon. Hidden vegetable versions (don’t ever try that on me, I can pick them a mile away). Shredded beef enchiladas, short rib ones. And today I’m sharing mine. 🙂 It’s made with:

A simple homemade Enchilada sauce which is quick to make and so, SO much better than store bought;A flavour loaded beef and bean filling which is made with ground beef (mince), a load of Tex-Mex spices, refried beans AND black beans. Bean overload? Definitely not! The refried beans add bulk while keeping the filling nice and juicy so we can have nice, big, plump enchiladas!

What you need for Beef Enchiladas

Here’s what goes in my beef enchiladas. Just a note on a few of the ingredients:

Refried beans – the “secret ingredient” that really fills out the beef mixture so you can big, plump, generously stuffed enchiladas that are nice and juicy. I use this in my Chicken Enchiladas too – works a treat!Black beans  – to fill it out a bit and add a different texture to the filling. Diced vegetables are great to add too – especially red peppers / capsicum.Homemade Enchilada Sauce – made with either tomato passata or canned tomato sauce (US, I like Hunts), plus a good hit of Tex-Mex spices.Beef – This is a recipe for beef enchiladas so it’s made with ground beef. But it can be substituted with pork, chicken or turkey!

Here’s my little time saving trick: one spice mix to flavour both the beef filling AND the Enchilada Sauce.

How to make Beef Enchiladas

There’s a good back of Tex-Mex spices in this! Some of it is used for the homemade Enchilada Sauce, and the rest is used to flavour the Beef and Bean Filling.

Try these on the side

Corn Salad with AvocadoGrilled Corn or try this Mexican CornEveryday Cabbage SaladBroccoli SaladPico de Gallo (Authentic Mexican Salsa)

Ahhh. These Beef Enchiladas. I really hate using the words “these are the BEST!” for any of my recipes because we all have different palettes, and what I may think is the “best” might not be to someone elses’ taste. But truly, to me, to this day, even after having consumed more than my fair share of Enchiladas at Tex-Mex restaurants across America, I still think these are better. Way, WAY better than the mainstream chain restaurants! Hope you had a great weekend! – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

This recipe features in my debut cookbook Dinner. The book is mostly new recipes, but this is a reader favourite included by popular demand! Originally published June 2016. Updated August 2019 with new photos, new video, new process photos and refreshed writing – no change to recipe, I wouldn’t dare!

Mexican Mania

Life of Dozer

Rain, hail or shine, Dozer blasts through the dog door out into the backyard to chase rabbits and bark at birds. Luckily, he has a raincoat to help keep him dry(ish) on wet days! SaveSave SaveSave

Beef Enchiladas - 8Beef Enchiladas - 67Beef Enchiladas - 66Beef Enchiladas - 80Beef Enchiladas - 32Beef Enchiladas - 64Beef Enchiladas - 54Beef Enchiladas - 51Beef Enchiladas - 71